top of page
Search

South Carolina Day 3: Myrtle Beach

Updated: Apr 10, 2019

We awoke to a cloudy day. Not what I was expecting this Spring Break, but we slept through our breakfast offered at the hotel so I woke up Kallie and Sarah to bring everyone to the Waffle House. It seemed to be a very popular thing down South, as there were over 20 we spotted in Myrtle alone so we came to the conclusion that we had to try it.


So thankful that we did because Alex and I had the same meal of two waffles with chocolate chips, scrambled eggs, toast, bacon and sausage, and of course hashbrowns. That was more than enough to get us through the day and energize us for our events we had planned. Kallie and Sarah wanted to do their own thing and hang on the beach while Alex and I looked up mini golf courses in town, since that seemed to be another popular thing in town too.



We dropped the kids off at the hotel and Alex and I headed to our first course. (We call them our kids because people started calling us couples the moms and dads of the group. Don't know why but it stuck). My finger was still in a lot of pain and I was determined the meds weren't working but everyone kept telling me its the first day of the meds. It will take a couple more till it kicks in. I was impatient to say the least.


Alex and I had the car for the day so we drove out to our first mini golf course that was right next to the waffle house we ate at in the morning. I was called Cancun Lagoon and we could play indoors and outdoors, even climb our way up a pyramid. The competitive side in me was coming out and I was already talking big in front of Alex. KNOWING I could beat him at this game. So we made it interesting, whoever won the two rounds of golf we played loser would have to buy the next.



The first round was all indoors and in the pyramid, we kept it pretty close throughout so we knew it would come down to the last few holes to see who'd win. It was a nice touch that some holes added a spinning wheel to add challenges to your put and helped with our competition. Sadly, I lost both rounds at this course because Alex got some power in a swing and got a hole in one.


While setting up my phone to take this image, I nailed my already injured finger on a rock and it felt like a bullet went through my finger it hurt so bad. I fell to the ground, never felt pain like that since I had stitches in my thumb. My smile is holding back the few tears that accumulated after that blow.

Defeated and in pain, from the loss and my finger, I decided I wasn't done playing yet. We took a break from golf, but knew we still had one last course to attend and determine the winner. We stopped at our handy dandy CVS again for a metal cast to put on my finger because I did not want to go through that pain again and went for a drive through the nice neighborhoods in Myrtle. Needless to say I fell in love with their homes and couldn't stop the interior designer in me from freaking out. We headed to the local shopping mall and walked around there for a bit afterwards. The sun was finally peeking through the clouds and it warmed my skin. I was happy once again.


At the mall we stopped and got some local ice cream for Alex (all chocolate) and I decided to get a pick me up at Starbucks since I had a gift card. Always buying smart, thanks mom. We spent another hour there till it got warmer and we felt it was time for round two. Mt. Atlanticus Minotaur golf course was our destination and this place was HUGE. It caught my eye off of the street and I knew I wanted to play there. We got our gear and headed for the first 18 holes.



Again, we kept it a close game and I showed off my skills a bit and drained two hole in ones much to Alex's surprise and kept on top of him. We were making our way to the top of the moutain and reached the final hole. It was a close match, I was ahead by 2, and I felt like I had this one. Sadly, Alex never fails to finish well and he beat me AGAIN. Deciding to give him the champion name, I smiled and laughed at the thought that I still can beat him in basketball (2-0 record, no big deal) so mini golf can be his sport then ;) Sorry Alex.




View from the 18th hole!

We decided to sneak around the front and play the other half of the course to finish off our day at Mt. Atlanticus and drove back just in time for some burgers and brats with the girls. We also decided to head to North Myrtle with them and check out the shops and scene at night. We all found some shirts and souvenirs to bring home and landed in a candy store along the strip. We grabbed some sweets and headed back to the hotel where we'd watch a scary movie and head to bed.


Kallie was literally the kid in the candy store when she saw you can make your own pixie stick.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page