top of page
Search

Day 36-37: Farewell, Edinburgh.

Updated: Dec 1, 2019

The sad day has arrived, I must close the book to my Scotland adventure but in this post I write to reflect on my trip.


On our last night, we had a house dinner and photo op that is tradition at the house. We take a mod picture on the grand staircase as a final farewell. We also were invited to our directors loft to have drinks and tapas. A nice send off for the evening. I finished up packing and called it an early night after spending some time with the girls.




The next day I had an early taxi ride to get back to the airport, and thankfully Kallie traveled with me because it made the trip go by somewhat faster but made it easier to say goodbye to this wonderful place.


There are so many wonderful memories and people I met and made through the trip, it makes it hard to close the book. My top favorite places I visited was Northern Ireland and Ireland and also the Highlands in Scotland. Among the least favorite places I visited was Amsterdam and Paris. But Netherlands made up for it the father out of the city center you went and also I would go back to Paris now that I understand it better and I would want to see the countryside more.


That is what I enjoyed in Northern Ireland the most, being able to drive wherever and visit the small towns. I also think traveling with the right people make it easier but anybody you travel with will make it interesting!


If you ever want to head out on your own or go study abroad, do it. The time is now. Make every moment count when you travel too. Taste new foods you've never heard of or never thought to try. Hike that mountain, walk the unbeaten path. Go to the pubs and watch live music and meet the locals, all of it matter and makes your trip that much more special and memorable.


This first time abroad was a struggle in many ways, but worth it. Now the next time I go , I can learn from my mistakes and barriers I can overcome. It also gave me a case of the travel bug as I want to visit so many more places, Switzerland would be on the top of the list.


We have arrived at the airport and Kallie walked with me up until I was near security. She sent me off with a hug goodbye and I told her to make the most of the rest of her trip. Make more memories and friends. I was in touch with my family eager to see them. I enjoyed traveling solo home, thankfully on the long airplane ride from Edinburgh to Washington D.C. the middle seat was empty so I had more space to spread out and sleep and watch movies.



The flight from D.C. to Minneapolis was tight, small and loud. But short so I stuck my headphones in and was anxious to land and see my family. Once we landed, I luckily go my baggage very quickly and could wait for my parents at the pick up/ drop off area. I almost didn't recognize them in a brand new truck. My mom ran out of the car and gave me a big hug and I finally got one from my dad as we arrived home. Jett was a warm welcome too at the house and so was Kirsten. I was also surprised with a bouquet of flowers from Alex - my boyfriend- saying welcome home and can't wait to see you. The best way to be welcomed home - by the people I love.


So that does it! Studying Abroad was a success...till next trip. I am signing off!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page