top of page
Search

Day 6: Amsterdam & Utrecht, Netherlands

We had an early flight to Amsterdam and boy was it a long one. We got to Dublin airport on time and had plenty of time to enjoy a nice breakfast there but once we boarded the flight we were to wait another hour and a half to take off because of bad weather. From my understanding there was too much rain recently and we had to wait for it to clear up and make sure the runway was good for landing. So we waited and I took that opportunity to take yet another nap. I wasn't quite over the jet lag yet but I could tell I was getting close! It was weird for me to take naps during the day as it is not part of my routine.


When we finally took off I started writing a bit, reflecting on my travels thus far. I missed my family, friends, boyfriend, and dog back home. It was weird being away from them for so long. Kallie had it a bit easy on her because her sisters were traveling with her. I had to wait for a text or call from someone back at home. It was definitely an adjustment that I wasn't used to and change doesn't come easily for me. I am thankful I have such supportive family and a supportive boyfriend that were there when it worked best for the both of us.


So again, to my family. Thank you so much for making this trip possible for me. I am learning so much about myself and how to travel it is unbelievable I am still chugging along. I dedicate my blog to you guys and look forward to seeing you guys soon too share my stories in person. I love you guys, hugs half way across the world!


When we got to Amsterdam we got our rental car which was a brand spanking new black BMW. I have to admit, we were riding in style but a BMW is a small car for a six foot tall girl. I was very uncomfortable in it, but thankfully we only needed it to get to point a and point b and the rest of the time we were walking or taking other modes of transportation. We decided to leave exploring Amsterdam for the last day here so we went to the next big city near our Airbnb, Utrecht. I don't know if it was the crabbiness, emotions from missing home or really that city itself that got me in some mood but this was my least favorite place we had visited thus far.


The people were rude, guys would shout, whistle or make comments at us five girls and we couldn't even sit in a restaurant without guys banging on a window and screaming some comment at us. Some of the girls were able to brush it off but that made me super uncomfortable and made me hate the town more. It was also dirty on the streets and there wasn't a time you didn't walk by someone who was either high, drunk or just flat out rude. I am sure there are some good parts to that town but we just didn't find them and didn't care to. If anyone has visited Utrecht before and had a somewhat better experience than me, please let me know!


All of us girls were done with the day after we got lunch, so we headed out to Schoonrewoerd, a small country town with the cutest homes and town center. This Airbnb won cutest home and nicest land because the family that rents it out lives on a farm so we were surrounded by horses, chickens and cows and beautiful gardens and farmland. We needed a relaxing place like this so that evening we all had time to ourselves. To catch up with family or unwind from a crazy busy first week of traveling. I had a call with my dad, my mom and Alex which brightened up my mood and day. They reassured me the whole trip will be good and worth everything so I was so blessed I had them are my support/ cheer team. In that moment I could see they were really happy for me and that meant the world to me.


That is basically it for this day, we din't do much. That evening I relaxed and watched a couple movies as I was pooped. But don't worry, we have plenty of exciting adventures to come so look forward to those! This post is to be short and sweet! Also sorry for no photos this time ):



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page