top of page
Search

Day 27: City Art Centre | Scottish Opera

Updated: Nov 30, 2019

After being back a day now from our Highlands trip I can officially say I was sicker than a dog and did everything in my power to stay somewhat healthy for the rest of the trip. This weird illness I had was aches all around my body a dry cough and sometimes stuffy nose. Horrible and knocked me out. At that point I wanted to go home as I was sick of being sick and being away from people I love and miss terribly. But I had about a week and a half left in my trip - time FLEW by.


This class was one of our last field trips as we went to the City Art Centre to look at the Victoria Crowe Collection - she was a well known Scottish Painter and this gallery devoted three floors to her work. And it was impressive - among the other favorite artists I learned about while here because of her choice of work and also how she used color and choice of brushstroke that added a uniqueness to her pieces.


The same homework criteria followed as we had to pick one of her many peices that spoke to us and write about it. Below is what I chose. Later that evening we had another house trip to Edinburgh to see the Magic Flute performing at the Scottish Opera. This would have been my first time to the opera and I really had no idea what to expect.









Needless to say I really enjoyed it and loved that it was like a theatrical musical - and it opened my eyes to a new art that I never knew of before. The girls and I also loved dressing up for an evening out as well.


We are counting down the days for the trip and the homesick feeling is growing even more. The whole trip seemed to rush by but now was taking forever to do. I was torn between staying and leaving but we still had a few good trips up our sleeve.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page