top of page
Search

Day 23-26 : Highlands - Isle of Skye - Loch Ness - Old Man of Storr and More!

Updated: Nov 30, 2019

Another weekend means another great trip to get out of Dalkeith and see what more Scotland had to offer. This time around - the Highlands. This trip was one on my list since I first decided I wanted to Study Abroad. The beauty nature had to offer was endless up there and we couldn't of had a better tour guide the whole weekend. Our trip was supported by MacBackpackers - a tourist group for the highlands. Our tour guide - Mark - was very funny and had plenty of Scottish stories to tell us the whole trip, he also introduced us to new Scottish music (much to my surprise) I really enjoyed.


The whole house was on this trip which made it even better, and we set off on Friday mid morning to ensure we got on the road and could fit in as many roadside stops along the way and make it to Isle of Skye around 8:00 PM. And just like that, we were off.


On our way up we made a couple major stops - Kai Laken and Loch Ness. Kai Laken was a cute town just across the border of Scotland and the Highlands. There we stopped for a restroom break and also to get some coffee or food in us. We drove a bit further then just outside of town to do a thirty minute hike along a river and by a train rail. This reminded me way too much of home. Everything from the trees, the river and the rocks you'd find was screaming North Shore, MN to me.








Even my parents agreed when I finally had cell service and sent them pictures of it! A ways down the road we then learned the true story of Loch Ness and Nessie. It all still could be proven as a myth or legend but at least when I am older, I can tell my kids I swam where Nessie lives. We stopped at a small hostel to hike down to Loch Ness (Loch meaning Lake) - and those brave enough to swim would warm themselves up with a shot of Scotch. I did not swim but rather dipped my toes in as the water was freezing and I didn't have my swimsuit. But I still tried the Scotch (which was called Jura) and absolutely smooth with a smokey finish. One of my favorites I tried the whole trip.








After that we had one more stop in mind - Isle of Skye which was our end goal. Mark did not waste time and arrived the crew to our hostel right at 8:00 and once we settled in, we had about an hour before the restaurants closed to eat some food! We had to rest early as we had a busy day of hiking ahead of us and more bus rides.







Day 2: of the Highlands trip would first bring us to the Fairy Pools. This was a rather quick stop we had as our next one would take up most of our day. But on our way there Mark told us the story of the Fairy Pools and that the water and land surrounding is so magical and beautiful because of the fairies that bless it. So one goal of this hike was to immerse you face in the water of the river and you will be granted good fortune for the rest of your life.


Naturally I tried doing this, but ultimately gave myself a quick splash of the face - but was dazzled but the numerous waterfalls and crystal clear water. Well worth the stop and hike to check them out - and if you are feeling bold, I would suggest making the hike all the way to the mountains in the horizon. Makes for even greater views of the Glenn Brittle.









Our next - and probably favorite hike of the trip - was Old Man of Storr. Story goes that a man (who was very full of himself) made a deal with a witch (and as Mark warned us - you never want to make a deal with a witch). The man succeeded with his end of the deal but missed out on one slight detail and then the witch cursed him and turned him into stone, leaving his penis shooting from the earth as symbol to his pride. This was a rather odd story but fun hike.


This took about three hours total to hike up to his great rock and the venture a bit further and also make it back down to the starting point. There is a hike to make it to the coffee shop which would add another hour and a half or so depending on how much of an avid hiker you are. This was the hike with the most picturesque views and the one where you felt most accomplished at the end of the day. I sadly probably got too much fresh air and ended up not feeling the greatest when we got back to our hostel. I went our to eat with a few of the girls but ultimately got sick and ended the night early.










The final day of our trip was targeted to going home but we did have a few stops along the way. The best one was Doune Castle - which is where Winterfell from Game of Thrones was filmed and also Monty Python. I did not feel good the whole trip back which put a damper on the day but I was happy to be home to just rest and get some medicine in me.




If you ever have the chance to go to Scotland - make sure to visit the Highlands. Best part of the trip. Unforgettable memories and sights to see.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page