top of page
Search

Arizona Day 2: Prescott, AZ- Looking at Properties

It is about 4:30 in the morning here in Prescott. I'm sitting in bed wondering why am I up this early? Yes, I had to go to the bathroom but coudln't wait till sunrise apparently. So WHY! Oh yes, in Minnesota it would be 6:30 right now and my body I guess is still on Minnesota time. Jetlag possibly? Hopefully I overcome that, but since I am wide awake why not read out of the Weird Arizona book I found in the cabin till sunrise!


It was around 7 AM when I decided to head to the house and first take some pictures of their property because I found it super cool and then found everyone on the deck. I decided to make some coffee and join them on the deck and enjoy the view. We planned out what we had going for us today. Turns out today was the day we were going to check out some properties my parents have their eyes on down here so with no time wasted, we got ready for our day and headed out for town.




View right off of the deck right in the forest! Check out those Ponderosa Pines

As we made it to town, we made a stop at the Raven Cafe for brunch which was fabulous. I had eggs benedict with avocados, oh how yummy. Now all fueled up, we saw that there was a street fair going on at Whiskey Row so we decided to check that out for a bit. We didn't stay long as we had a lot to cover today but it was worth it!


Funny but true joke outside the cafe.




Our first stop of the day was Thumb Butte in Prescott, we checked out some properties nearby and then hiked a bit to look at Thumb Butte in all it's glory. It is called that because from town in looks like a thumb sticking out from the mountain side. I find it pretty gnarly. It felt like we did a 360 drive around the whole thing because we took a lot of windy turns and I remember getting lots of views and angles of it. Regardless, the properties around that were decent but I didn't want to give my full opinion till we saw all of them for the day.


Nice Butte ;)


The Pondersoa Pines within the park. Tower over you and makes for good pictures.

Can't even get the length of them in a shot!

We went to Granite Mountain to view the next set of properties and I believe we found a winner winner chicken dinner because the views were UNBELIEVABLE at these sites and overall it felt right. This area reminded me most of the North Shore in Minnesota that my parents (and I) love dearly. We ended our property hunting taking in the breathtaking views of the valleys and mountains along the horizon. Simply serene and peaceful in that moment and a good time to appreciate our time together. I could've perched myself on a rock and stayed there all evening to look at the sunset and not get tired of the view. I believe I'l be saying that for a lot of places in Arizona. But, we had other places to go and a dinner reservation to attend so we made our way back to Val and Michael's.


Look at it! Beautiful!


Hey Papa Bear!

Of course, we made it back just in time for happy hour. Kirsten and I taught the old farts about what getting 'iced' means and needless to say I was the only one drinking but took that ice like a pro. (If you don't know what getting iced means, someone hides an Smirnoff Iced drink and whoever finds it has to take a knee and chug it). Needless to say they weren't too impressed, but hey I am in college Mom and Dad. Sorry! We made our way to Finn, which was a restaurant on a mountain basically. We hoped to be seated outside to look at the valley and see Prescott from up above but seating inside worked for us too. We still could enjoy the view and our delicious meal. I had black peppered shrimp mac n cheese which was amazing. I am drooling again thinking about it and long to have it again. The comedy of the night was me coming to the realization that there was carpet underneath our table. It lead to a long conversation as to why it was under there and why I realized it was under there in the first place. We had to go to the length of asking our waitress but even she didn't know there was carpet underneath it! I guess it will forever be a mystery, but thanks for amusing me carpet!


We headed back home afterwards and had an early night because we had to get up early for our trip to Jerome and Sedona the following day. Kirsten and I stayed up for a bit talking and doing our crosswords till we got tired. We also had a pesky fly that annoyed us for a while so we hunted him for a while, I am ready to inform you he didn't make it. So till Sedona, we say goodnight!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page